16 Feb 2020

Nominations Open for the 5th Edition of the Isa Award for Service to Humanity 2021

The General Secretariat of the Isa Award for Services to Humanity announces that is now accepting nominations for the Award’s fifth edition (2020/2021).

In 2009, His Majesty King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa of the Kingdom of Bahrain established the Award, as a tribute to the late Emir of Bahrain His Highness Sheikh Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa (may his soul rest in peace), who dedicated his life to serving humanity. By honouring and rewarding those who provide exceptional services to humanity, the Award recognizes Sheikh Isa’s outstanding humanitarian legacy and the impact he had on his country and on the world.

Individuals, organizations, scientific research centers and pioneers who fund humanitarian projects from anywhere in the world can nominate themselves for the Award; their humanitarian work must benefit the largest possible segment of people without discrimination, and it must be non-political and non-profit.
The General Secretariat of the Award also conducts field studies to identify other eligible humanitarian projects.

The Isa Award for Service to Humanity is presented, every two years, to people and projects in the following fields:

  • Disaster response and relief
  • Education
  • Community service
  • Promoting dialogue among civilisations
  • Promoting human tolerance
  • Promoting social peace
  • Urban development
  • Climate change and protecting the environment
  • Scientific achievement
  • Alleviation of poverty and destitution
  • Any other field of humanitarian service

A jury of experts from around the world will judge the nominees’ works.
The winner of the Award will be presented with a Royal Certificate of Appreciation, a medal made of pure gold, and US $1 million at a ceremony in the Kingdom of Bahrain In June 2021. The ceremony will be held under the patronage of His Majesty the King of Bahrain and in the presence of senior officials, VIPs and guests from Bahrain and beyond.

For more information about the Award’s conditions and requirements, visit the Award’s website www.isaaward.org – or e-mail info@www.isaaward.org

Nominations will be accepted until the end of June 2020. The winner will be announced via all media outlets.